Saturday, March 20, 2010

The Continents: Land Area

The continents are the great land masses of the earth. There are seven continent on Earth now: Africa, Antarctica, Asia, Australia, Europe, North America, and South America.
Continent Area in Square Miles
(Square Km)
Percent of Total Land Area on Earth
The World 57,308,738 Sq. Miles (148,429,000 Sq. Km)100%
Asia (plus the Middle East)17,212,000 Sq. Miles (44,579,000 Sq. Km)30.0%
Africa 11,608,000 Sq. Miles (30,065,000 Sq. Km)20.3%
North America 9,365,000 Sq. Miles (24,256,000 Sq. Km)16.3%
South America 6,880,000 Sq. Miles (17,819,000 Sq. Km)12.0%
Antarctica 5,100,000 Sq. Miles (13,209,000 Sq. Km)8.9%
Europe 3,837,000 Sq. Miles (9,938,000 Sq. Km)6.7%
Australia (plus Oceania)2,968,000 Sq. Miles (7,687,000 Sq. Km)5.2%

No comments:

Post a Comment