Sunday, November 15, 2009

Canary Islands

The Canary Islands (pronounced /kəˈneəriː ˈaɪləndz/; Spanish: Islas Canarias, pronounced [ˈizlas kaˈnaɾjas];
) are a
Spanish archipelago which, in turn, forms one of the Spanish Autonomous Communities and an Outermost Region of the European Union. The archipelago is located just off the northwest coast of mainland Africa, 100 km west of the disputed border between Morocco and the Western Sahara. The sea currents which depart from Canary's coasts used to lead ships away to America. The islands highest to lowest are: Tenerife, Fuerteventura, Gran Canaria, Lanzarote, La Palma, La Gomera, El Hierro, Alegranza, La Graciosa and Montaña Clara.

No comments:

Post a Comment