Tuesday, November 3, 2009

Kolkata Darshan(Universities)

Kolkata's schools are either run by the state government or by private (many of which are religious) organisations. Schools mainly use Bengali or English as the medium of instruction, though Hindi and Urdu are also used. The schools are affiliated with the West Bengal Board of Secondary Education, the Indian Certificate of Secondary Education (ICSE), the Central Board for Secondary Education (CBSE), or A-Level (British Curriculum). Under the 10+2+3 plan, after completing their secondary education, students typically enroll in a 2 year junior college (also known as a pre-university) or in schools with a higher secondary facility affiliated with West Bengal Council of Higher Secondary Education, ICSE or CBSE. Students usually choose from one of three streams — liberal arts, commerce, or science, though vocational streams are also available. Upon completing the required coursework, students may enrol in general or professional degree programmes.

Kolkata (Bengali: কলকাতা ; IPA: [ˈkolkat̪a]), formerly Hi-Calcutta.ogg Calcutta , is the capital of the Indian state of West Bengal. It is located in eastern India on the east bank of the River Hooghly.[1] When referred to as Calcutta, it usually includes the suburbs, and thus its population exceeds 15 million,[2] making it India's third-largest metropolitan area and urban agglomeration as well as the world's 8th largest agglomeration

Kolkata houses nine universities and numerous colleges affiliated to them or to other universities located outside. The University of Calcutta (founded in 1857) has more than 200 affiliated colleges.[95]

Bengal Engineering & Science University and Jadavpur University are notable engineering universities.

Calcutta Medical College is the first institution teaching modern medicine in Asia.[96]

Other notable institutions are Presidency College, St. Xavier's College, Bethune College (the first women's college in India) and Scottish Church College.

Some institutions of national importance are the

Asiatic Society,

Bose Institute, the

Indian Statistical Institute, the

Indian Institute of Management,the

Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, the

Variable Energy Cyclotron Centre, the

Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, the

Centre for Studies in Social Sciences, Calcutta, the

West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences, the

Marine Engineering and Research Institute, the

Rabindra Bharati University, the

Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, the

S.N. Bose National Centre for Basic Sciences, the

Indian Institute of Social Welfare and Business Management, and the

National Institute of Fashion Technology,

Indian Institute of Chemical Biology.

The Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur and

National Institute of Technology, Durgapur are within a few hours distance from the city.

No comments:

Post a Comment